A Black Jacket

Reconstructing the past

It is so easy to fill your head with names and dates when looking at past events. But is this the only way to see the past?

Object can bridge a significant gulf between the present and the past. Not only can objects transcend time, they can carry with them both the public and private stories of a personnel life; so if you can unpick the code, you can see the world through the eyes of a person who does a hundred years ago.

Linda takes us back in time with both written eloquence, a stunning series of photographs and a needle and cotton.

Click through to read more….

DewsburyVictorianFamilies

It’s interesting where this blog is leading me. I think I’m turning into a Victorian. Or at least, my culturally biased idea of a Victorian. Certainly my fashion sense has changed.

I came across a Victorian jacket in an antique shop in Leominster. I told the owner that I loved the jacket, but the Victorians were so small that I would never find anything I could actually wear. “Oh, I’ve worn it”, she said. As she was slightly bigger than me, this sounded promising. So, of course, I tried it on and bought it.

Here it is:

victorian-jacket

I didn’t initially decide to document what I was doing, so at this stage I’d already ironed it and done one or two repairs. It then occurred to me that it was relevant to Minnie. This is to do with the way I’m experiencing the garment. The lace, beads, silk, and fastenings are…

View original post 791 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

